Vaseline Lip Therapy Review: Original, Cocoa Butter & Rosy Lips

‘Tis the Season… for dry lips and let’s face it, I want to rock my red hues this holiday and I’m not about to let nasty chapped lips stop me. I picked up these cute little tubs of Vaseline’s Lip Therapy in three… flavors? shades? um, let’s say in three different kinds: Rosy Lips, Original and Cocoa Butter:

Vaseline Lip Therapy tubs in Rosy Lips, Original and Cocoa Butter

Vaseline Lip Therapy tubs in Rosy Lips, Original and Cocoa Butter

We all know Vaseline and growing up, my mother would use it on my brothers and I for just about everything! Truth be told, when I had my daughter 7 months ago, I even purchased a tub for her changing table though I haven’t had to use it yet. It’s just one of those things you think you’ll need in the house once you have a baby! However, when I saw these cute little lip tubs out on shelves at my local Target last week, I remembered how fantastic Vaseline was for really, really badly chapped lips and with the colder weather approaching, I figured I’d give them a shot. They retail for around $1.99 each and contain .25oz (7g) of product.

Vaseline Lip Therapy tubs in Rosy Lips, Original and Cocoa Butter

The packaging is so tiny and cute!

Vaseline Lip Therapy tubs in Rosy Lips, Original and Cocoa Butter

Only Rosy Lips has a tint to it.

The Original tub is pretty much a doll-sized version of, well, the original Vaseline formula, so not much to report there. However, the Cocoa Butter smells wonderful: a true Cocoa Butter scent- a tad floral with hint of chocolate and even has a slight, sweet taste- almost like vanilla. Of course you wouldn’t want to eat this, but I don’t like when my lip products have a plastic-y taste either. The Cocoa Butter Lip Therapy has the same glossy finish as the Original and the same, clear coverage.

Rosy Lips on the other hand, has a beautiful pinkish/red tint to it and glides on as smooth and glossy as the Original and Cocoa Butter yet it leaves your lips with a soft pink wash of color. Very, very sheer but you can totally see some color. Rosy lips has a soapy rose scent to it- very clean and fresh and not overpowering at all so if you can’t stand rose-scented products, I really don’t think you’d have any issues with this lip treatment because the smell is so mild. As far as taste: again, it almost has that soapiness to it, not sweet, but not offensive either.

Vaseline Lip Therapy Swatches: Rosy Lips (left) compared to Original (right)

Vaseline Lip Therapy Swatches: Rosy Lips (left) compared to Original (right)

Vaseline Lip Therapy Rosy Lips

Rosy Lips on my pucker

I’d say Rosy Lips would be perfect for daytime when you want to use a lip treatment to help heal your chapped lips (or prevent them) but also want a wash of color when you’re out and about. Sometimes I have light makeup days and do not want a heavy face full of color. I’ll use my power foundation, some mascara, blush and now add my Rosy Lips and I’ll be good to go! I’ve placed Original and Cocoa Butter on my nightstand to use before bed. So far, I wake up in the morning and I have noticed my lips are hydrated and smooth without any peeling or flaking which is a plus when you have the heat running all night and the air is so dry.

Overall, I like these little tubs of lip goodness and will predominately be using them as lip treatments rather than lip glosses that compliment my makeup. The Cocoa Butter version is my favorite scent yet I love Rosy Lips for the soft kiss of color it gives my lips.

Would’t it be awesome if they expanded the line to include a purplish berry color/flavor? I do love me some berry in the winter months! What do you think of these and have you given them a try yet or added them to your Winter skincare routine? Leave me your thoughts below and as always, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

