Battle of the Liquid Lipsticks: Too Faced Melted vs. L.A. Girl Glazed vs. Milani Lip Intense Liquid Color vs. OCC Lip Tar vs. Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer

ARRREEE YOUUU REAAADDDYYY TO RUMMMBBBLLLEEE???

This week’s post is all about my adventures in liquid lipstick testing. There are some hot new lip products on the shelves lately, from drugstore to high end, and you all know me: I don’t discriminate; I’ll try them all! It seems to me the most popular ones are Too Faced Melted Liquified Long Wear Lipstick, L.A. Girl’s Glazed Lip Paint, Milani’s Lip Intense Liquid Color, Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics or OCC’s Lip Tar and Rimmel’s Show Off Lip Lacquer. I’ve had a few of these babies in my collection already and picked up the Too Faced Melteds and L.A. Girl Glazed so I decided it was about time to write up a comparison for you all. First let’s do a packaging and swatch comparison between L.A. Girl and Too Faced since there was a lot of talk in the beauty community recently about how similar these products looked to each other when they were released a few weeks back:

L.A. Girl Glazed vs. Too Faced Melted Swatches

L.A. Girl Glazed (from left: Pin-Up, Bombshell, Hot Mess, Babydoll, Blushing and Coy) vs. Too Faced Melted (Melted Ruby, Melted Fuchsia, Melted Coral, Melted Peony, Melted Nude and Melted Violet) with swatches

Right off the bat, I can tell you the L.A. Girl Glazed are NOT dupes for Too Faced Melted. If you were hoping to save some cash and try out the less expensive versions from L.A. Girl, I wish I could tell you they are more similar in texture and color, but they’re really not. In my swatches above, the first three shades to the left look the most alike however, the formula on these is vastly different. I would say the Glazed are closer to OCC’s Lip Tars and the Melted are more of a true… well, “melted” lipstick. Too Faced are creamier, thicker and not as runny as L.A. Girl. Both pack a big punch when it comes to pigmentation and you only need one swipe to coat your lips in total opaqueness, which I love. The Melted lipsticks have a sweet, almost cherry scent and the Glazed have a minty scent and slightly tingle your lips but do not cause any burning sensations like some lip plumping products do. The Glazed are also more glossy than the Melted and harder to apply with their squeeze tip that is just a larger hole in the plastic slanted edge. I would recommend using a lip brush for a cleaner and neater application. The Melted leave a satin, almost matte finish, much like a regular lipstick in a tube would leave (unless it’s a high shine lipstick formula of course!) and the tip is fantastic- one of the best features to the packaging in my opinion: a slanted tip covered in a furry felted texture with tiny holes allowing the product through so you can achieve a more even and controlled application. Plus, the formula of the product is thicker and creamier so it doesn’t drip out or run all over your lips which is a bonus.

Let’s talk about staying power: because the Glazed are a tad on the runny side, I did notice feathering around my lips after 30 minutes or so. Kind of a bummer for me because I hate feather. I guess I could use a lip liner to help lock them in place and also give me a neater application so that’s a quick fix. Or you could wear these over a regular lipstick as well. The Glazed do stain your lips a tad. Not as much as say, the Revlon Color Stay Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stains do or an actual “lip stain” product, but they do leave behind a slight stain. Not so much with the lighter colors in the Melted line- only Ruby, Fuchsia and Violet left a slight stain, though not as much as the Glazed. I feel like Too Faced lasted longer on my lips before I needed a new swipe to punch up the color, say about 4 hours. L.A. Girl needed some help around those feathering lines an hour into my day and I found myself touching them up a lot more often, though the glossy shine did last a decent amount of time. When it comes to quality, hands down Too Faced Melted wins this battle! The tube itself feels rather nice in your hands and the applicator tip was really awesome. The quality of the product inside was of course much better too- felt more comfy on my lips and really wore nicely throughout the day. I would say these are worth their $21 price tag for 0.40 fl. oz./12mL of product. But I am not saying you shouldn’t pick up some L.A. Girl Glazed for ONLY $4 again with 0.40 fl. oz./12mL of product. They both smell, feel, look and last differently on the lips!

Now let’s talk about all the other liquid lipsticks in my collection and how these all compare to each other or scroll to the bottom to find out which brand wins out overall for the title of “Best Liquid Lipstick”.

Battle of the Liquid Lipsticks

Too Faced Melted in Fuschia (Melted Peony pictured here at the bottom only to show you the applicator tip since I do not have a full size of Melted Fuchsia, only a sample) vs. L.A. Girl Glazed in Bombshell vs. Milani Lip Intense Liquid Color in Fiery Coral vs. OCC Lip Tar in Anime vs. Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer in Apocaliptic

If were going to call them “liquid lipsticks” than Too Faced Melted, Milani Lip Intense Liquid Color ($7 for 0.20 fl. oz./6mL) and Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer ($6 for 0.18 fl. oz./9.8mL) feel to me like the closest thing to it. L.A. Girl Glazed and OCC Lip Tar ($18 for 0.33 fl. oz./6mL) feel so similar, very runny and glossy, with the Glazed taking the prize for most glossy out of them all. OCC Lip Tar stains the best in my opinion and both the Glazed and Lip Tars have that slightly tingly minty smell, taste and sensation. The least pigmentation and color payoff goes to Milani which have a very similar sweet cherry scent like Too Faced. Don’t get me wrong: Milani packs a punch! But You can see it’s a thinner formula, though more mousy compared to OCC and L.A. Girl but I felt like I needed two layers to achieve full opaqueness. Easiest to apply? Too Faced, Milani and the winner for best applicator: Rimmel which has a doe foot applicator that gives you just the right amount of product and a precise application with it’s extra slanted fuzzy tip! Love it! These all have great lasting power, much longer than a regular lipstick, so that’s a plus. And you never have to worry about breaking off your lipstick tube on a hot day or if you apply too much pressure: these are already in the perfect melted form! Now let’s check out my categories and see how each brand did:

Truest “Liquid Lipstick” Formula:

  • 1st Place: Too Faced
  • 2nd Place: Rimmel
  • 3rd Place: Milani

Glossiest Formula:

  • 1st Place: L.A. Girl
  • 2nd Place: Rimmel
  • 3rd Place: OCC

Longest Lasting Formula:

  • 1st Place: OCC
  • 2nd Place: Too Faced
  • 3rd Place: Rimmel

Most Comfortable Formula:

  • 1st Place: Too Faced
  • 2nd Place: Milani
  • 3rd Place: Rimmel

Best Pigmentation:

  • 1st Place: OCC
  • 2nd Place: Too Faced
  • 3rd Place: L.A. Girl

Best Packaging/Applicator:

  • 1st Place: Rimmel
  • 2nd Place: Too Faced
  • 3rd Place: Milani
  • LAST PLACE: OCC- I should mention I am NOT a fan of OCC’s packaging at all but I know a lot of people love it. I can’t wait for OCC to come out with stick versions of their colors!

And finalllyyy… Overall Best Liquid Lipstick Winner (based on all categories and my rigorous testing): Drumroll please…

  • 1st Place: Too Faced
  • 2nd Place: Rimmel
  • 3rd Place: OCC

Have you tried any of these liquid lipsticks and which ones are your favorites? Any other brands I didn’t mention that you think are worth a shot? Please leave me a comment and let me know. I love chatting with you all and getting to hear YOUR options and favorites! Thanks for stopping by and I hope I was able to help you find a new liquid lipstick that you might want to pick up now!

12 thoughts on “Battle of the Liquid Lipsticks: Too Faced Melted vs. L.A. Girl Glazed vs. Milani Lip Intense Liquid Color vs. OCC Lip Tar vs. Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer

  1. I just did a review on the Melted Lipsticks from Too Faced and I have to say I was very disappointed in them after waiting so long for them to come out. They’re all extremely cool toned, now looking at the LA Girl, I know I prefer those colours cause they’re obviously much more warm, I just have no idea where to find them.

    • Have you tried L.A. Girl’s website? I know they restocked last week! Sorry you weren’t a fan of the color choices for the Too Faced Melted. I am sure they’ll be releasing more colors to their permeant line soon enough and hopefully they’ll have more warm toned shades! I love the formula though so I really hope they do release more options!

      • I did actually manage to pick up all six from the website this morning since they restocked. If I like them, I think I may be more stoked by the fact that I got all six for just $3 more than one of the Too Faced ones.

  2. This is a terrific review of these products! I can really appreciate the amount of work you put into this 🙂
    I love the color selection and formula of OCC lip tars but hate the packaging as well. It’s not on the go friendly and it’s not always ideal to have to apply a lip product with a brush.
    Anyway thanks for your review!

    • Wow Amanda! THANK YOU! Your comment means the world to me! I really appreocate your kinds words and I love hearing feedback from my readers! Hope you try one of these and love them as much as I do! xoxoxox

  3. What an awesome & thorough review! Thanks! I like the LA girls but also find them messy without using a brush which is pretty inconvenient

Leave a Reply

